When you change folder options and save them to all folders, existing tabs aren't reloaded with new settings. Refresh also doesn't happen. But if return key is pressed inside location bar, then changes are applied.
That is by design. Folder formats are evaluated when you change folders (unless the format lock is on), with windows being left as they are between those times.
Such behaviour seems a bit unexpected to me, but, it's not that important, so, we don't have to discuss it further.