Flat View Ques

I'm new to DOpus, so my ques here are elementary...

When I select "Flat View" from a folder with several subfolders, I see a 'flash' of contents, that immediately disappear. The Status Bar does show (492 Hidden Items), so that's obviously the problem - but - I haven't selected Hide for anything - that I know of.

Why would files be hidden in Flat View and not otherwise?

Thanks
Al

Maybe you've got a filter set which hides folders? That will cause anything below those folders to be hidden in a flat view.

Check in Folder Options, or using the filter boxes explained in this FAQ, to see what you're hiding.

It could also be system/hidden files which are being hidden.

Also note that under Preferences, Folders, Folder Formats there is a special format for Flat View. If you've configured that to hide different files to your other formats then that will explain what's going on.

Leo,

I've looked through the FAQ's & Tutorial, and checked the Prefs/Folders/Folder Format. The Flat View does not show anything Hidden. I've tried this with the Flat View format Uncheck, with the same result.

I agree that this seems to be an issue of something being 'Hidden', but I'm not seeing a setting that indicates that 'Hide' has been selected.

Of course there ARE a lot of settings :slight_smile: I'll keep messing with it and will likely come across something.

Thanks
Al

Maybe a dumb question, but you're not selecting Flat View (Mixed No Folders) are you?

Jon,

I've been using "Grouped", though I can't say I know why "Mixed - Not Folders" would be a problem, since I don't normally display Folders in the File Lister.

Have also tried "Mixed", and have tried removing the Filter to Hide Folders in the File Lister. Same results - a 'flash' displaying the files, then reverts to the contents of the current folder.

Thanks
Al

I suspect your Flat View folder format (Preferences, Folders, Folder Formats, Flat View) is set to hide folders.