Grouping and Tile Support

First off, i think you have a great product. It needs two features though:

1. to be able to group items.
  2. add tile support (icon + label rows).

Without these, it is really difficult to switch from Windows Explorer. -- I am an engineer myself, so let me know if I can help. Also, you may want to consider transitioning to open source now that your product has been built. in early stages of dev., open source isn't good, but now that you have a solid code base, it would help your business.

as a last note, there should be a "padding" setting for the sides of the file listing view. for example, in thumbnail view, the thumbnails start right at the very top of the screen area and it looks pretty odd.

Regards,

Sean H.

You seem to have missed a great deal of Opus' functionality if tiles mode is the deciding factor for you between it and Windows Explorer. That said, I think it's been requested in the official feature request list. As for OpenSource - well that's just silly - then everyone would have to stop washing and wear nerd t-shirts... :open_mouth:

What is this "grouping" you mean ?

You are aware, that Dopus is commercial software without the resources (and financial might) of big companies like IBM, Novell and Sun, all, which get there money back elsewhere (techical support, mass-installations, hardware sales etc.) ?

OpenSource for business is like creating a free-TV program in order to sell TVs :wink: If you've got no TVs to sell, you better encrypt your program.

I yet have to find someone who understands that the "Free" in the "Free Software Foundation" is not about getting something for free.

Except some unwashed guys in nerdy T-Shirts, lol :wink:

An example of Explorer's "Grouping" mode is shown in the screenshot.

Hmm.... is this possible for any other places than "My Computer" in Explorer ? At lease the grouping is there in Dopus for "My Computer".