High CPU when another process is doing lots of file changes

I work as a software developer on a large java project. When I have dopus open and I run a command line build of our product ("gradle clean build"), Dopus bumps up to ~10% CPU for a couple of minutes, then hums along at about 2-3% CPU for the remainder of the build. It doesn't seem like much but our build is CPU bound so I'm trying to get everything I can out of my processor. dopus is not currently displaying any of the folders involved in the build. The "clean" phase of the build deletes about 1000 folders and 100,000 files and the build phase will recreate the same number. But why does Directory Opus even care if it is not displaying anything involved in command line build?

I can see in Process Monitor that Directory Opus appears to be reacting to file/folder changes on both my C: and D: drive.

The blurred sections are all paths to subfolders in my project folder, but again dopus is not displaying any of them. But I've left the C: and D: unblurred because I'm wondering about this "NotifyChangeDirectory" event. It sounds like there is a hook on any changes on these drives? I don't know I'm just guessing.

I also used Process Explorer to capture some Thread stacks. The first stack is the highest CPU stack:
ntdll.dll!RtlAllocateHeap+0xa31
ntdll.dll!RtlAllocateHeap+0x16b
SYSFER.DLL+0x1bcfb
SYSFER.DLL+0x1b1df
SYSFER.DLL+0x186b
SYSFER.DLL+0xfca9
SYSFER.DLL+0x2d9e
SYSFER.DLL+0x2c33
SYSFER.DLL+0x31f4
SYSFER.DLL+0x3267a
SYSFER.DLL+0x320d3
SYSFER.DLL+0x31e87
SYSFER.DLL+0x4d783
SYSFER.DLL+0x4d63c
SYSFER.DLL+0x4b589
SYSFER.DLL+0x19ae7
ntdll.dll!RtlDosPathNameToRelativeNtPathName_U_WithStatus+0xfb7
KERNELBASE.dll!FindFirstFileExW+0x1c3

This stack trace appears on some of threads that have less cpu (1-2%) and is also the stack that appears for the remainder of the build when Dopus is running 2-3% cpu.
win32u.dll!NtUserGetMessage+0x14
USER32.dll!GetMessageW+0x2b
dopus.exe+0x98e08f
dopuslib.dll!IsWow64+0x31