Image viewer enhancement

As a photographer I have thousands of photos to sort through. If I open a folder with images and double click on the first one to open it in the image viewer and then proceed to use my middle mouse button to scroll through the images, when I find one I like and want to edit I close the viewer window but instead of seeing the thumbnail of the last image I just looked at highlighted, the first image in the folder is still highlighted. I then have to scroll through the thumbnails to find the image I was just looking at. Acdsee or iview don't behave this way; as you flick through the photos in full screen mode, when you return to the thumbnails the one that is highlighted is the last image you were looking at so the explorer type interface is keeping track of where you are. I would very much like to use dopus for all my cataloging but the lack of this one feature makes it a pain. When I scan my collections I always do it in full screen mode and need to know where I am in the file list as I come in and out of that view.
I hope that makes sense. Sorry it's so drawn out.

I'll second that notion!

I'd also like to be able to modify the context menu that appears when right clicking on pictures displayed in the image viewer. It would be nice to not even have to exit the viewer to be able to send it to photoshop or ms paint for instance...

You can drag the viewer's titlebar icon (top-left) into other applications to drop the currently-displayed image on the application.

True, but no good when you're in full screen viewer mode and/or your editing application is not already open. Personally I'd like access to the filetype context menu I've defined for images to pick whatever application I might want to process the currently viewed image with.