Moving, samba, and partitions

So... I've narrowed this down, and it's really annoying.

I have a Samba share mounted on my PC. The samba share is backed by ZFS ... and ZFS done correctly uses lots of partitions. Windows sees it as one drive letter, but on the UN*X side, it's many partitions.

When I go to rearrange files, I'm almost always moving them between partitions. Now with DO, copy then delete works.... so the code is really simple: when move fails, fallback to copy-delete.

I assume this is relating to your post from 2016?

Did you ever send the Process Monitor log that Leo asked for ?

I vaguely remember that post, but I understand the problem better now.

It works when the folders are on the same partition. It fails when the folders are between partitions. Since I've narrowed it down to move vs. copy and partition vs. not, I figured you'd have all the info you required to track it down.

UAC elevator need not even be involved, since my user owns everything we're talking about.

Since you just might stall on my request even though I've probably solved it for you, here's the file you were after. Too big to email.

BTW... I like how you're not pushing a cloud service. I like my own cloud ... which isn't even owncloud.

BTW... supporting WEBDAV would be a good way to show support for people's own storage solutions.

Not yet. Setting up the same thing with standard Windows shares works without issue.

Samba or ZFS must not be responding in the normal way when we query the paths to ask if they are both on the same partition.

We definitely need the log to work out what Samba/ZFS is doing here, so thank you for finally sending it!

Which files/folders were you moving which failed? The log has 3.5 million entries, so I need to know what to filter on to find the relevant information.

Man... was just a random move.

I think I was moving a directory called "The.Blacklist.S07E06.720p.HDTV.x264-AVS" from X:\torrent\new\Video to X;\tmp\