Previous settings maintained from V12

I checked the FAQ about this before posting, but it specifically states that it does not cover V13, so I am asking here.

Will V13 preserve my settings, or import saved settings...? Or do I have to really start all over again?

Version 13 keeps the settings in tact as much as possible. In a few minor cases, some settings have moved in which case they aren't maintained, but any main ones should still be there after installing 13 on top.

Just make sure to make a backup before the installation. Keep that and an installation for version 12 at hand, would anything not work or be maintained as expected, so that you can go back easily just in case.