Problem with full path in tabs

As a programmer, I really really don't like the tab names directory opus provides (having multiple tabs with "(C:) bin" or equally similar names isn't quite helpful), so I've been trying to get full path in tabs working (based on tab-labelizer.js). I circumvent the whole shorting logic and simply set the full path as tab name which is working fine for the tab names themselves, but in the overflow menu, whenever there's a \t inside the path, the rest of the path gets right aligned. Also, if tabs get really long, the "new tab" button can get pushed out of view, this shouldn't be possible. I'd really like to see this functionality implemented properly, then DOpus would be perfect (at least for me ;)). But at least for now, a fix for the weird \t behavior would be appreciated.

Here's a screenshot of the problem:

We've made a change for the next release which will prevent \t in custom tab labels turning into a tab character.

If you're aiming to use really long/wide tab labels, showing tabs on the left or right may be preferable to the top and bottom positions.

Thank you very much for your reply. Per your suggestion I've moved the tab-bar to the left and I do like it there. Now I feel like it would be quite nice if the text was actually right aligned, because if the tab doesn't completely fit the available space, the beginning of the path is usually less important than the end, so cutting it off is less of a problem.

Is proper support for showing the full path in tabs a thing you guys might tackle in the future?

Wouldn't you then end up back where you started, only seeing the last part of the folder names like you do by default?

Showing full paths on the tab names seems unwieldy to me. I'm not sure that could ever work well.