Script wizard (split discussion)

Hello,

I'm new to Directory Opus community and I"m still learning the ropes of Directory Opus and I'm been loving it.

One of the scripts that is listed pretty much everywhere is this one. It's very well crafted and, considering the limits of JScript 5.6, it's even more impressive! Excellent job @tbone!

Sadly, it doesn't work with the (new?) forums. So I decided to try to upgrade it as an exercise to Directory Opus scripting

@tbone I hope you don't mind it. If this bothers you at all, please, tell me and I'll remove the script right away.

If you do like it and would like to use it as a base to keep improving it, you're more than welcome to do so. It is your script, after all :slight_smile:

On my tests, it seems to be working nicely. Keep in mind I couldn't stress the code too much, since I'm new to DOpus and don't have many scripts installed.

Here is the file. Don't worry, it won't auto-update anyone, my modifications only check (on purpose) the first post of a forum topic :wink:

Command.Generic_ScriptWizard.js.txt (355.3 KB) v0.6.0 unofficial
(link removed per author's request)

A (terribly written) changelog:

• Updated most links with the new Directory Opus Resource Centre forum address scheme
  • Added JSON parsing support (https://github.com/douglascrockford/JSON-js/blob/master/json2.js)
  • It now uses the UID when checking if a downloaded script is valid
  • Versions are compared using the number specified in the script itself (before, it was the forum text)
  • Download function completely rewritten to support redirects and automatically download JSON when needed
  • Download function now relies on WinHttp.WinHttpRequest to support and catch redirection URLs
  • New Function: FetchScriptsData(), responsible for downloading each script candidate and organizing them in a sorted array
  • GetVersionsOfBestMatchingResource() simplified, since the forums scheme changed

Some notes on the code: