After deleting files - jump back to where I started

This is the scenario:
for instance - thumbnail view, many files - I select a few rows of thumbnails, delete those and
then have scroll back a number of times to where I started (need to remember that position/how the last thumbnail looked like)

Wonder whether there is some 'trick' to kind of 'jump back' to where I started.

Maybe it simply isn't possible.

Asking nonetheless.

Thanks.

What do you mean by where you started?

I'm guessing:
Lets say you have sets of icons which I'll represent vertically as:
A
B
C
...
Z

And you're on about L, and you drag down to select to say T, the delete all the selected, I'm guess the OP wants the screen to return to where it was before the start of the drag, in this case I guess it would J, and I presume it probably fills the screen after the delete with U onwards...

I've thought about something similar in the past. Is there a way to make a quick "tag" or "work point" or even "fave" on a file and return to it quickly later (in the same session.)

I admit, it is a bit confusing. Let me try to explain with an example.

thumbnail view showing thumbnail #1 to #1000
Select, e.g. #100 to #150 - delete
Now I would get back to (in this case #99), i.e. where I started selecting files to be deleted.
Right now I need to scroll back (Pgup) a number of times.

Seeking a trick or key jump back to (in this example) #99

Again, it simply isn't possible.

You would have to select the files in the opposite direction (bottom to top) if you want to be at the start of the selection afterwards, rather than at the end.

(But I think normally you’d work down the list selecting and deleting some as needed, and want to keep working down from where you’d got to so far, not get scrolled back to where you’d already been.)

:left_arrow: works here.

It may depend on:

Preferences / File Operations / Deleting Files / Automatically select next file after deleting

Many thanks, I'll give it a try soonest.

[off-topic]

Having the same thumbnail view, one might have a quick preview, what it is about.
The thumbnail is in the middle row
When closing the preview, the selected thumbnail 'jumps' to the top row.
Is there a way to avoid that, i.e. to keep the selected thumbnail on the same place, middle row.

Thanks.

Super - many thanks! Works fine indeed.