Automatically created list/view of recently opened PDFs (and maybe other file formats)?

(I'm new to Directory Opus and am still trying to wrap my head around the seemingly endless and often difficult to setup possibilities. I've searched for this topic before but couldn't find anything, I hope it's ok to ask about it here.)

I would like a view that lists all PDFs I ever opened in order of when they were last opened. So this view would need a column for "date/time last opened". (It would be even better if this view also listed every pdf existing on my computer, even those that weren't opened yet.) I want the views to also show thumbnails of the pdfs, be able to navigate to the actual location of a file with some kind of right click "open file location" and be able to directly delete files from the view.

Having this for the PDF file format would be most useful to me, but it would also be great to have this kind of view for different file formats, like docx, xlsx and such. For some file formats it might be useful to combine different file formats in one view, like docx and odt.

Is this something that is possible to configure in Directory Opus?

1 Like

You might be able to go to the /recent folder/alias and filter on *.pdf, but whether a file is there or not will depend on how the software opening it works.

Windows doesn't (reliably*) track the last time a file was opened, so what you're aiming for probably isn't possible in general.

(* Files have an Accessed timestamp, but it's essentially useless and a leftover from older OS.)

Thanks for your reply. Can I configure your suggestion as some kind of view (that shows /recent and is already filtered to pdf) that can be opened from the folder tree, (eg. under Favorites)?