If you want to use Settings > Backup & Restore, but want to remove some things from the backup file it creates, you can rename the .ocb file to .zip to look inside it, then e.g. delete the TabGroups folder so it won't overwrite the tab groups when you restore the backup (on another machine).
Obviously, when restoring, don't turn on the "replace entire existing config" option, as that would delete that machine's tab groups.
If you only want to copy certain settings to other machines, copying individual files/folders (e.g. the Buttons folder contains all the toolbars and context menus) is another option. It's usually best to fully exiting Opus (via File / Exit Directory Opus) before copying or replacing any config files, as some are only loaded at startup/exit.