Color Management

As a photographer I would dearly like to see a color management option within the viewer to select .icc profiles as I believe ACDSee pro and iview media do. I work on my photographs in Adobe Photoshop using the Adobe RGB Color space and if I view the pictures with the Opus Viewer the colors are substantially different.

1 Like

I can't believe that dOpus' viewer is not yet color managed. I don't know if you are aware, but almost all good TFT monitors are already wide gamut. User base is getting bigger and bigger nowadays, and so is the need for color aware applications...

It would be great to hear a comment from the dev team on this.

Best regards,
jj

Well Opus is supposed to be a file manager, not a colour manager :slight_smile:

A pity. Will have to byu FastPictureViewer for this. Thanks for clearing it up.

I'm requesting same. D.O need color management or else I wont buy it for my small company.

It is perfectly possible to have the colour of images in Opus match what you see in Photoshop and then have those results reflected in your printer. It depends on how much work you are prepared to put into calibrating your monitor and your printer and setting up a colour workflow properly.

Things are much easier nowadays now that there are monitors on the market than can be hardware calibrated, but if you regularly profile your monitor with a tool like iProfile, you can get your images to match perfectly with or without Opus's colour management.

But take it from one who has been working with Icc profiles in the printing industry for 20 years, if you want perfect colour matching you will need to put the work in and order plenty of aspirin.

Lesson 2: Converting to CMYK

1 Like

bilde

Thanks for fast reply!