Compress files before copying from sFTP site

I'm a web developer and very often have to copy a lot of files from/to sFTP site. Those files are usually very small (<10 KB) but there are thousands of them which causes transfer to slow down awfully.

Is there any chance DOpus could compress/decompress files on sFTP site via command in context menu? It would be much easier than using Putty or other utilities.

Another idea is to compress and decompress files on-the-fly but it might be a little messy, especially when file transfer is interrupted.

It would be nice to have similar feature on regular FTP sites but I'm afraid it might be impossible.

Oh, and to be clear - by "compressing" and "compressing on-the-fly" I mean compress files using ZIP/GZIP/TAR or other formats, not compressing connection which might be quite useless if there are a lot of very small files.

I don't think Opus could do the decompression on the remote end because each instance of Linux/Unix seems to have wildly different decompression tools, versions and command lines. (It takes me long enough to work out how to do it by hand on a new shell account :slight_smile:.)

And this is why I wanted DOpus to automate this process. :slight_smile:
Maybe it could somehow check which tools are present on the remote server. I don't think there are hundreds of them. I guess there are 5 or 7 compression/decompression methods that will cover 95% of servers.

Please note that WinSCP has such option and it works on several servers I just checked.

Maybe you could introduce customizable FTP menus (with ability to create custom commands so one could add commands that work on servers he uses.

Most of the time the additional compression for individual small files would prob not be worth the I/O bother.

It is better to gather all your small files into a single tar archive and transmit one large file.

1. If you have access to putty you can surely execute standard linux commands on the remote server, no?

e.g.