[DO11 feature request] multi-line tabs

I'm sure I'm not the first one to ask - how about multi-line tabs? A single line gets overcrowded quite soon.

1 Like

We are religiously opposed to multi-line tab bars. They are a user interface crime. :slight_smile:

I look at it in a slightly different way - as a programmer, I often do things that I'd never ever do for myself, but if my paying customer insists, I'll sometimes close my eyes and do it anyway.

Just an idea - this might be a half-hidden option in advanced page of settings.

We do lots of those things (else Opus wouldn't have thousands of options in Preferences), but we have to draw a line somewhere. :slight_smile: Multi-line tabs have so many usability issues, as the UI Hall Of Shame points out.

There may be better ways to deal with that many folders/tabs than letting them spread on to a second line of tabs.

This article is at least 15 years old :slight_smile: not that up-to-date in interface design. Also it is focused to options dialogs, not document/viewer layout which more relates to Dopus use-case when browsing files.

Anyway, I myself don't have the need for so many open tabs, but I do understand the need for multi-line tabs. Visual Studio also doesn't support them, but many people (including) myself bought a little plugin called TabsStudio, which allows exactly that. And it really helps organizing and saves time.

If it's too complex for you to implement it, then I would understand. But you can't say that you are "religiously opposed" to multiline tabs if it is useful for quicker navigation (dropdown definitively isn't, especialy since you need two clicks instead of one - not to mention that you can't close those in dropdown since they don't have X button).

The issues the article raises have not changed in 15 years, and I don't see multi-line tabs being popular in e.g. web browsers where it is incredibly common to have lots of tabs open, or in anything really, and for good reason.