DO12 - Beta 5 problems with PDF metadata and scripting

I am trying to develop a script that will allow me to write to the user fields of PDF files. I am a photographer, not a computer programmer, so progress is slow and I guess as far as the niceties of VB scripting for professionals go pretty crude.

But surely this is one of the great delights of Opus, you can hack around to your heart's content to get what you really, really want. So please do not by sniffy about badly spaced code or inefficient code or whatever, like the last time I asked for some help. I am trying my best to learn something that is completely alien to me. And the only reason I have embarked on this project is that the type in the metadata panel is so small I find captioning images via it's interface a thankless task.

The code which I have inserted in this message makes a simple dialog box that you fill in with metadata and then commands insert the strings into the appropriate fields of of the metadata held in a PDF except it does not. If you use Opus scripting to set the Author and Creator fields on a PDF, it works a treat, however put those instructions in VB and those fields will not fill. Use exactly the same instructions to in VB to fill the Comment field and it works a treat. I believe that there are similar problems with the Subject and Title fields also, though I have had the tags field working.

The enclosed script is based on a script I wrote to make it easy to caption my pictures and with pictures it works an absolute treat, with PDFs it is proving something of a nightmare.