Make 'single click over icon' an independent option

I was very happy with the option highlighted in the image.
What I don't like is that I must enable its parent option first.
I don't understand why the option depends on the single-click option.
I might be wrong, but it worked better in an earlier beta. I can't remember being annoyed by the selection on hover feature.

Anyway, can you make it a separate option?
I want what the option says: a single click on the icon to open, normal behavior (=double-click) on the label to open. A single click only selects.

hover - icon select

4 Likes

Support this request

1 Like

Will this request be implemented (soon)?
Having a single click option inside a single click option makes no sense to me.

The only issue I have with the current settings is that selecting a file often goes into rename mode.
This happens when I click to slowly to select a file, so there is a slight moment of hover before the click.
It also goes into rename mode when I click on a file that is already selected, regardless of the time between clicks.
Is there a way to stop this entering of the rename mode from happening?

I don't understand what you mean by "make it a separate option". The second option modifies the behaviour of the first, it doesn't have any meaning if the first isn't turned on.

Normal behaviour = single click select, double-click open (1)
Single click option = hover select, single-click open (2)
Both options = (1) on the label, (2) on the icon

I want what the option says: a single click on the icon to open, normal behavior (=double-click) on the label to open. A single click only selects.

That is what you have if you turn on both options.

s there a way to stop this entering of the rename mode from happening?

Slow click rename can be disabled from Preferences / Miscellaneous / Advanced: [Behavior] slow_dblclk_rename.

I don't get the same behaviour when I turn both options on.

If I do, it selects on hover, and that's not what I want.

When both options are turned on, it goes into rename mode when a file or folder has already been selected. This does not happen when these options are turned off.

I don't want to disable the slow-dblclik_rename feature because it's useful.

So, I stick to my original feature request.