Recent File Button

Introduction

I have developed this button to improve its efficiency and flexibility. The exercise has forced me to expand my skills using DOPUS' extensive capabilities. It has been rewarding to get things to work. I will describe how I created it and the internal commands I have used to help others realise that they can shape DOPUS to their needs and preferences.

I am not a programmer and welcome comments or pointers to improve on what I have produced. Developers and programmers have learnt and practised their skills to the point of taking them for granted and do not need to reiterate the detailed steps and logic behind their work. We all do it. For example, we followed extensive steps and rules when we first learnt to drive. After practice and experience, many of us can drive a car without consciously remembering each step. When we try to teach others to drive, we struggle to relay all the finer steps we take for granted. We all need teachers who can teach us the basic steps, using creative methods to help us step up and confidently drive DOPUS.

Background to the Button
A new DOPUS user, identified as r47926, asked if it was possible to set up DOPUS to show PDF files he had opened and organised from the latest to the earliest order. He specified that he would like to select and view these files as thumbnails, open the files, and delete the files from the view. Furthermore, he realised that the solution might apply to other file formats (e.g. docx, xlsx, odt, etc).

DOPUS developer Leo swiftly offered some suggestions and possible caveats to creating a DOPUS button using internal commands:

Go /recent
Set QUICKFILTER=*.pdf

r47926 engaged with Leo and successfully implemented a DOPUS button. The discussion also alerted users to set preferences:

Preferences / File Displays / FAYT and Filter Bar Options / Clear Quick filter automatically when changing folders so the *.pdf filter doesn't persist when you go to a different folder in the same tab.