Renaming and capitalization

Hello,
First, my best wishes to everybody in this difficult time throughout the world.
As we are on lockdown, I am dedicating some energy to learning new skills as well as exploring DO and some of its innumerable functions, including file renaming.
Although I have found assistance in the integrated help file and by searching the Internet, I have a two-part question and would be grateful if anyone can help, or at least point me in the right direction with what could be either very easy, or impossible.
I have tried various different methods with macros and some of the scripts available in the forum (I am not a scripting expert, I am more at home with cmdlets and batch operations) to achieve the following:
Specifically, what I want to do is to rename multiple files (sometimes 100 or more) so that two, or sometimes three, consecutive alphabetical characters are in uppercase/capital letters.
The characters always occupy the same consecutive positions in each batch of file names, e.g. #2 and #3, or #5 and #6, etc., and are preceded and/or followed by strings of alphanumerical characters (upper or lowercase, with or without hyphens or dots, etc) and these should remain unchanged.
The file names are followed by a dot and the extension, e.g. in file ‘ab12cdefgh34jK5.mnp-etc.ext’ characters #7 and #8 should be uppercased/capitalized to ‘ab12cdEFgh34jK5.mnp-etc.ext’.
I have to stress that the two (or sometimes three) consecutive alphabetical characters can be any letters from the Latin alphabet, i.e. from ‘a’ to ‘z’, so I surmise that a simple “find and replace” would not function.
Question 1. Is this rename operation possible with Directory Opus?
Question 2 (conditional on the answer to question 1 being ‘yes’ or similar). How?
Maybe I am missing something obvious, if so I apologize in advance.
P.S. To reiterate a message from my professional affiliates: