Search by content in PDF files

I am new to file management at this level of complexity. At this stage, two things are important to me.

1. A user friendly tagging system for all files (something like what MusicBee uses would be great)
  2. A way to search by file content

I have been researching my needs for a couple of weeks and I am down to Directory Opus and one other product, and I have both installed on a trial basis.

I am running Windows 10 Home. I have installed Adobe PDF Ifilter 11 (64 bit) and Adobe PDG Ifilter 6.0 (32 bit?). I have set Indexing Option to “Index Properties and File Contents”. I have let the indexing process run its full course. I can search by file content on the native File Explorer, including PDF files and ODT (Libre Office) files.

I can use Directory Opus to search the content of text and ODT files, but I can’t make it search PDF files. There may issues with other files, I don’t know because at this point I stopped looking, because PDF is not exactly an obscure file type.

Just to be explicitly clear, the PDF file I am using for my search is text searchable both internally and by File Explorer.

I attach a screen capture, if this helps, together with a screen capture from a File Explorer search on the same content.

Thanks in advance for any advice you can offer as to what I am doing wrong, :slight_smile:

1 Like

What you're doing looks correct, at least from first glance. I am not sure why the PDF IFilter would not be working with Opus there.

One thing you can try is to type beatrix into the search field at the top-right of the Opus window. That will send the search query to Windows Search, rather than using Opus's internal Find Files functionality, but still shows the results in Opus in the same way. It should generally give you the same results as the search field in File Explorer.

If you do that, does it then match the PDF file as well as the other two?

Thanks for the response.