Slowness / Non responsive in window showing Drive List

This is the biggie! :100:

The one that is stressing me the most with DirOpus. I'm sure it is resolvable I just cant figure out how (been trawling other threads & posts for good 90m+ :exploding_head: - I don't have the exactly the same problems as the 2019 right-click guy, for instance)

My biggest problem with DirOpus:
GENERAL INSTABILITY
- Grinding slowness often, Crashes / Non responsive frequently (4 a day minimum) and occasional "Directory Opus has encountered a program error"

I'm no programmer but neither am I a total computer illiterate. :woozy_face:
Also, I don't believe my computer is under-powered.
So, something is very definitely going wrong here

[ My Specs:
Win10
All internal drives (data & operating systems) are SSD.
Intel i7-6820 2.7 GHz 4 cores, 8 logical
64gb RAM ]

I have checked and taken the following steps (as per other threads advice), without success, :pensive:

1. Disabled all the ShellExView stuff. Nothing is active

2. Already have Preferences / Display / Transition Animations / Enable transition animation - all disabled

Just 1 small demonstrative example of the negative experiences I'm having:

I quickly need to flick over & to do something really simple like check if my G Drive is filling up.
So, I go to look in the small "My PC" DirOpus window I always keep open to monitor drives.

For some reason, it is showing an endlessly spinning activity circle but, apparently, is doing nothing useful. [I haven't been into that Lister or told it to do anything in over an hour.]
I click in it :arrow_right: it goes whited-out and unresponsive. After waiting 30 seconds, I give up and use Explorer. Explorer works immediately. About 6 minutes later I check back and DirOpus is STILL unresponsive. :confused:

DirOpus is supposed to speed up & enhance my workflow.