System wide thumbnail generator?

Hello!

I've got a pretty powerful system and I'm an animator / cartoonist by trade. I have thousands upon thousands of images on my PC, and I find myself in 2020 often waiting to browse a folder in thumbnails mode, while the computer again updates the thumbnail images. I've got the appropriate Windows tweaks set to increase the thumbnail cache, keep the maintenance from deleting that cache as well as just now increasing Opus' cache for such things.

Is there any way to have Opus do a one time massive pass through every existing drive / folder on my pc and just generate thumbnails for absolutely everything? I wouldn't care if it took a week to complete.

-Losing hair in Portlandia

2 Likes

I don't think there is a good way to do that currently.

Something which may help slightly is Auto-load Thumbnails only in specific folders which you can use to make Opus start pre-caching thumbnails as soon as you enter a folder, even if you haven't switched to thumbnails yet. But you'd still need to enter a folder for its thumbnails to start generating.

In the thumbnail cache setting, there is a "use loseless compression". Does checking that increase the size of the cache but will speed up the thumbnails loading?

There is also a "Thumbnails threads" which defaults to 12. I am guessing setting it to 24, will speed things up too, maybe?

• You can click the (?) icon at the top-right of the Preferences window (or push F1) to get descriptions of all the options related to the current page.

https://www.gpsoft.com.au/help/opus12/index.html#!Documents/Prefs/Thumbnails_Mode.htm

• Lossless compression won't speed things up. It's more of a space/quality trade-off than to do with speed.