The file is being used by another process

Hi! I am new to the Directory Opus, but I have a weird glitch where I can't do anything to a particular files because it's "being used by another process" however it's 100% not and the Locksmith from the Power Tools clearly shows that the Directory Opus is the only process that is locking the file. How could it be and how may I resolve this issue?

Just to clarify: it also happened several times with random folders. I've tried to enforce an admin rights and try again but it didn't help. Thanks in advance!

Is the viewer pane open?

2 Likes

Actually - yes, and it's trying to load something (judging by your question - this file) infinitely and I can't close it. Was thinking of creating a new topic about this - but during this viewer pane problem I also can't use any keyboard shortcuts and can't close the viewer pane either (just nothing happens)

Sounds like a problem with Microsoft's 3D Object Viewer and those STL files, unless a different viewer for them has been installed.

Do you see the same issue trying to view them in File Explorer?

For some reason I don't see many viewers in the DO preferences. As well as the ActiveX plugin which should've come preinstalled, very weird

And no, I haven't experienced any issues in the File Explorer but mostly because the STL files are assigned to the Chitubox slicer rather than Microsofr 3D object Viewer. Don't know how to change it :frowning:

Unless Chitubox slicer includes a preview handler, it'll probably still be the 3D Object Viewer that handles the files in Explorer's viewer pane.

Which viewers do you see in Preferences? Which version of Opus are you using?

1 Like

I've just found it - was searching for "ActiveX" and it's named "MetaPlugin". I am looking into it, will let you know if I fail or succeed in fixing the problem