The Transferring of Metadata is Confusing Me

First, I need to know what is included in Metadata. I have been using Directory Opus for several months now and I need to wipe out my hard drive and reinstall Windows. I usually do this perhaps 1-2 times a year.

Now, Directory Opus had its own way of doing things that Windows 10 did or did not have with respect to layout. For example, I would label certain important document in folders with Directory Opus's own method of labeling. I would sort files and folders in my own particular way in Directory Opus in many folders by using manual sort. Are all of these things that I just stated considered metata? Where are they stored? When I backed up my files via a backup program, did it backup this information too or was it lost?

For example, I have a Synology NAS and they use exFAT. It's unfortunate but I know I lose all of my Windows Alternate Data Stream and ACL permissions. That is something I really hate about my NAS. I wish there was a way to preserve it. What part of Dopus's metadata is saved and will be back there when I reinstall my hard drive?

It depends on the type of files, and the type of metadata. If we know how to store it in the file itself, we do that. If we don't, or there isn't a way, we store it in an NTFS ADS stream.

Labels are either stored in NTFS ADS or in your Opus config, depending on Preferences.

Folder formats are store in your Opus configuration and wouldn't normally be considered "metadata".

Custom sorting is stored in NTFS ADS against the folder itself. Not usually considered "metadata".

If you need to reinstall Windows, there are backup tools which will preserve the NTFS ADS data, if that's what you're worried about losing. Most tools intended for system backups (not just ad hoc file and document backups) should handle that. Or just copy the files to another NTFS drive (using something which preserves ADS, of course).