Want Button/Context Menu Item to Normalize MP3s with MP3Gain

I would like to right click on a folder and have DOpus pass all MP3s in the folder to MP3Gain for normalization. I'd love a one click option--open the files, normailze, and then save them. At this point I'd like to use the standard 'apply Track Gain' option, but it would be nice to know how to add MP3Gain parameters to change the options.

These posts have reference for the MP3Gain options to pass to Command Line:

https://sourceforge.net/p/mp3gain/discussion/164669/thread/ae108c97/?limit=25#7980/8708
https://www.mankier.com/1/mp3gain

Thanks for any help. I'm just getting started creating and editing buttons and scripts, so I'm learning from lots of you folks out here.

Brad

I'm not familiar with MP3Gain's command line details but if you can work out the command line you want to use (either per file or per folder) then we can tell you how to make Opus run it.

A good thing to do is try the command line from a Command Prompt, without Opus being involved at all, to make sure you have what you want. Trying to make an Opus button at the same time can complicate things, as you aren't always sure if the command line itself is wrong or the button that is generating it.

Thanks for the reply. I'm not that experienced with command line either, so I guess I have some learning/figuring out to do...

Try this. Set button function to MS-DOS and adjust the path to your mp3gain.exe.

Works with selected files:

@nodeselect 
C:\mp3gain.exe -r {allfilepath$} 
pause

Works with selected folders:

@nodeselect 
C:\mp3gain.exe -r {filepath$}\*.mp3  
pause

A quick shot without much testing. Feel free to complain if it needs tweaking.

2 Likes

The file one works (though I got a dialog that said "Windows cannot find pause" or something like that. I removed "pause" from the script and it was fine. My understanding is that just lets you read the output of the commands and isn't needed for the script.