Window Sizes / Position

I am new to Directory Opus. Still evaluating.

I would like to have Some Folders display at a specific size and location on the desktop I set them at and others different.

For instance I want to open my fax folder in the middle of the screen and other folder with files I am using for programing in another.

Right now when I open a folder, DO opens the window in the location of the last DO window I closed.

Been looking through the settings but have not come across this option yet.

Can this be done?

Thanks,

Michael

Hi Michael,

You can use Lister Layouts to do that. Here's a short page about them:

http://gpsoft.com.au/help/opus10/default.htm#!Documents/Layouts1.htm

(2021 edit: Here's the Opus 12 version of the same manual page, since this thread/link seems to get clicked a lot: https://www.gpsoft.com.au/help/opus12/#!Documents/Layouts1.htm )

Leo

Thanks Leo,

I have been working with that and can get the Window Position to save to the Lister Layout.

But the Thumbnail Size always returns to the default size.

I was hoping there was a way for the program just to remember locations without having to save layouts like this. Kind of like Windows XP where it can remember the size and position of a windows folder. So that whenever I opened that folder it would just be in the format I wanted.

Still a lot to learn... Maybe there is another way.

Michael

The only permanent thumbnail size setting is the one in Preferences / File Display Modes / Thumbnails.

Changing the size via the slider on the toolbars is only a temporary change, for that window only, and not stored in the layout.

If it helps, you can make buttons and hotkeys which adjust the thumbnail size like moving the slider but only requiring a single click/push to jump to a specified size.

Ahh.. So the thumbnail size is global?

Can't have it one size for one window and another for a different one?

Not a huge issue. But woudl be nice.

Thanks,

Mike