Custom File Sort Order for paperless office

Hi forum,

I've been working virtually paperless for like 5 years by now.

This means, for all my present and past projects, there is no paper folder but only a Windows file folder.

Therefore, especially with old/large/complicated projects it can become difficult to keep track what has happened at what stage of the project.

Normally I use "sort by date, youngest topmost" (sometimes also "sort by creation date") when working with project folders. This however doesn't give a proper overview of the project timeline, especially if older files are just, say, commented and re-saved, which means that afterwards they jump to the top of the file list.

Now if there would be a possibility to have a "permanent custom sort order" for each folder (compare the "custom sort" view in FastStone Image Viewer, with re-sort by drag-and-drop support -- great!) then I could have all the files in my project in a fixed order like in a paper folder, such that I could easily see what document "happened" before/after which other document.

In other words: It would be a killer to have one more folder view where you could change the sort order of the files by drag-and-drop INSIDE that folder. Additional files dropped onto that folder initially should be inserted and sorted according to CREATION date.

What is everybody's opinion regarding this feature idea?

Thanks,
David.P

Are the filenames outside of your control? If not, why not name each file starting with the date it was first created in YYYYMMDD format? Then they sort themselves in all programs, not just one. e.g. 20061207_Moo.doc

For Office documents you should also be able to sort by the "Document Created" column which is preserved even if the file's creation-time attribute is changed. No good for other types of files, though. (Images may have an EXIF creation time as well, but that's only good if you only have images to worry about.)