FTP constantly reconnecting

Win7/64 DOP 10.0.2.3.4367.x64 against FTP ServU on Win2K3.

I'm new to DOP and its FTP capabilities are a big drawcard. But I find it terribly inefficient to use for simple FTP use, leastways it is when using our main (Secure TLS-based) site.

Example: I have Keep Alive (60 s) enabled in Default site|Network and it is not overridden for any site. My last access (directory display, upload or whatever) might have been only seconds ago. Yet whenever I:

a) Do a file upload
OR
b) Navigate UP the folder tree (via the .. link)
OR
c) Navigate to some other branch (via the folder tree display)

...it forces a RECONNECTION, which takes between 4 and 8 seconds. This is a very high penalty to pay when I already have a Keep-Alive connection open!

Is there some way to turn off this forced-reconnection? It may be fast enough on some standard connections to be default behaviour, but it sure isn't on my TLS one.

Also, is there an optional setting somewhere to bypass the "Confirm File Replace" dialog with the Replace/Skip etc. options, just for FTP? When I drag a file to my FTP view, I want it to upload, and that's that. However, I don't want to alter the file-system-wide replace confirmation, where there is a greater chance of error.

Thanks!

What does the FTP log say as it reconnects?

Below is the anonymised log for a ".." action on a site which had been accessed mere seconds earlier (via an earlier ".."). I cleared the log just prior to doing the second "..". As far as I can tell, it is needlessly reconnecting not once, but twice! -- in spite of the access just beforehand. AND is closing it at the end. Such behaviour baffles me completely.

Opening Connection sante.sss.com:21
220 Serv-U FTP Server v6.3 for WinSock ready...
234 AUTH command OK. Initializing SSL connection.
331 User name okay, need password.
230 User logged in, proceed.
200 PBSZ command OK. Protection buffer size set to 0.
200 PROT command OK. Using private data connection.