Viewer Pane showing code instead of PDF

I'm very new to DOpus...

1. I was reviewing a pdf file:
    2.The Viewer Pane displayed an image of the document.
    3.The titlebar of the Viewer Pane listed the file name but in parenthesizes is listed (Abbyy Finereader) as "handler, whatever that means, instead of Adobe Acrobat DC
  2. I'd just loaded Abbyy trial and wasn't sure I wanted to stay with it so attempted to change it.
  3. Somehow in my ignorance, I changed something the converted the Viewer Pane from showing images to showing code and I don't know what I did so that I can undo it!
    6. HOW DO I GET THE VIEWER PANE TO DISPLAY IMAGES AGAIN?

Reinstall Adobe Reader and it should repair the registry settings that the other PDF viewer broke.

Thank you. I will try that immediately. The ability to view the images is much more helpful than that code view I have now!

Unfortunately, that didn't work. In fact, I deleted EVERY app I have that even remotely reads pdf. Then executed a hard-reboot and reinstalled just adobe. Didn't change. There was a setting of some type that triggered this because I was bumbling around... Do you have any other ideas on what setting it could be or other way to get my images back? For example, is there a "restore DOpus to original settings" feature?

Opus doesn't view PDF files natively, but it will use the registered PDF viewer if you have one installed.

If you open the preview pane in File Explorer, can it show PDF files correctly? If it works in Explorer it should also work in Opus.

Adobe software can be quite nasty to repair (once it forced me to perform a clean installation of Windows). To rule out that this is the case, install any of the other PDF viewers and see if it works.

Make sure you install Adobe Reader as well. Adobe Acrobat does not include a PDF viewer.

Number one thing is to make sure whichever PDF viewer you choose works in File Explorer's viewer pane first.